Jodhpur

With Jodhpur as a final stop on the train journey from Jaipur I simply have to get off with everyone else. Destinations at a terminating station are the way forward in India, when your destination is part of an onward moving train it is tricky trying to figure out the correct station to alight at, with platforms not well sign posted and poorly lit. The lack of on board announcements make it unnecessarily confusing and stressful.

Arriving in Jodhpur was easy, I just had to dissuade a porter from collecting my bags, edge along the platform with the crowd, trying not to knock anyone down with my big orange rucksack, as they slowly etch towards the exit. Find a motor rickshaw driver amongst the dozens of assertive drivers who will give me a reasonable quote and get me to the guest house.

20161206_173041

It’s not a long journey from the station to the guest house, perhaps a 20 minute walk, but with no viable map and just a few screen shots on my mobile, the rickshaw is certainly preferable to carting my bag into the narrow lanes of an old town. As the three wheel little beast edges and nudges its way through the traffic along the dusty, slightly smelly streets I am reminded that this is by far the best option.

The guest house is nice, the building well presented with a design element showing that modern and traditional designs can blend together quite well, once I reach the rooftop café for a pre check in chai I can see Jodhpurs main attraction. Previously obscured by the narrow streets of the old quarter and rickshaws roof the massive fort, perched, nay, plonked on top of the rocky outcrop overlooking the city below. Dominating the immediate landscape, this monumentally large structure controls the line of sight and is surely visible from any vantage in the city. The occasionally rickety, slightly blocky houses dwarfed in the foreground, the narrow lanes of the old town creating visual angles that make these occasionally blue structures seemingly precarious.

20161205_113630

