Rajasthani

The significant views from the rooftop restaurants captured the intriguing and majestic fort in all its majesty, as unenthused I was with Jodhpur, I’m glad it didn’t let me down on the table, the food I ate was delicious, well cooked and affordable.

p1060497Obviously I ate a few meals while in town, and tried to focus on Rajasthani items when I could. I discovered the problems with thali, or the mixed plate. Thali are quite a common occurrence in India, I’ve had a few already, they are generally a cheap way to try lots of different items, either as a table replenished buffet, or as a set tasting platter. The problem I’ve struck is the identification and repetition of dishes and the likely hood of over eating. In the interests of learning more about Indian cuisine and not over eating I’m going to limit thali in the future, they aren’t beneficial to either. One thing I do find beneficial is rich tasty food, and there is plenty of that here.

 

20161205_185659Lal maas – I was eager to retry this Rajasthani speciality, to see if the dish I was introduced to in Jaipur stacked up to the restaurant equivalent. The rich and flavoursome goat curry flavoured with chilli we were served was delicious, easily a pair of the one from the lesson, yet strangely mild, with a little less spicing.

Paneer do piyaza – The menu described this as cottage cheese and onion cooked in Rajasthani style. I find the description a little confusing as cottage cheese is nothing like paneer, yet the firm textured heat stable paneer is often given this description. In this dish the cheese is served in large pieces, stewed with onions, peppers in a thick and well spiced gravy, suspiciously similar to the Lal maas with added cream.

Lacha paratha – I love this crispy bread, the slight variation in this paratha making it seem less repetitive. With fresh mint and fenugreek layered between its thin sheets this paratha had a welcome additional flavour to an already delicious side.

