Delhi

I expected a much different place from the city I saw, most travellers I’ve chatted with and the guide books describe Delhi as the most hectic city ever. Flying into Delhi the thing that struck me initially is the lack of horizon, smog robbing me of that luxury, with many of the skyscrapers simply lost in the haze.

Sure Delhi is huge and the idea of going cross city in traffic is ludicrous, considering the metro is available, so besides the initial airport transfer I’m happy to forgo that experience. I do feel staying in a hotel away from the tourist ghetto probably helped with the lack of shock or excessive hassle most people report. Or maybe after a month in India I am simply more accustomed to dealing with, or in fact, completely ignoring almost everyone that approaches me unrequested.

p1060728Sure Delhi is huge, it’s busy, in part franticly so, but I can’t say I found it overwhelming or too troubling. I think the trick with visiting any large city is not to try and cover too much ground in too short a time.

For me the lasting visual image of Delhi will be the will be shrouded in the mist like smog that gives the city a dusk like appearance. So often a hazy half-light that dulls the sun light into a muted shade, not entirely obvious when the city is viewed at close quarters, but any kind of vista loses its crispness quite quickly at a surprisingly short distance.

The best lasting memories will relate to the world class dining experiences. Food lovers in a nation’s capital are almost always spoilt for choice. The capital being a hub, a migration option for so many. This influx from around the nation and the world brings a culinary bounty. With sightseeing less important, eating must take a dominant role while in Delhi, I was like a kid in a candy shop.

 

