Pure veg

Nestled between a few of Mysuru’s boulevards, the perfectly formed local produce market is especially good, with wide sections of welcoming looking produce, flowers and a selection of predominantly fragrance and colour based handicrafts. Small and easy to navigate, the corrugated iron and bright blue tarpaulins shield the stalls from the bright midday sun. The stalls are well kept, sweet smelling, remarkably clean and very welcoming, even the pushiest stall holders accept a negative response graciously.

With a surprisingly small number of appealing eateries nearby a cheap, genuinely local affair seems like a great idea, the appealing local produce certainly swaying me towards a vegetable heavy meal.

I know I have previously swayed myself away from overdoing the thali experience, but thought this one might be un-miss able. Mostly because of the banana leaf the meal is served on, this was also the more traditional type of thali, with spoons full of steaming curries are scooped directly from large pots, directly in front of you. Each time you ate a pile from your plate another dollop of steaming curry would be applied, until you signal, as best you can, that no more is needed, or wanted.

The meal was cheap, really cheap, and with a generous chilli hit from a few of the curries to remind me that this was indeed a local venue. To be honest I have no idea what I ate was called, it was pure vege, meaning without egg, and was very tasty. Well the thali part was pure vege, I did order an additional chicken masala, mostly cos I wanted it.

p1060981I’m still struggling with my ability to eat with my fingertips like the locals do, I felt a degree of pity, and relief when the waiter dropped a spoon down on the table. Clearly I wasn’t doing well, I knew, he knew and so did everyone else, not just by the pile of soiled napkins next to my leaf, but because of the number of prolonged glances reach my table.

