Go on, one more

Most of the beach shacks and restaurants I experienced in Agonda where staffed by Nepalese seasonal workers, who travel down to Goa from Nepal to work the 8 month season each year. By either a strange twist of fate, or, more rightly supply and demand. This benefited me with both friendly Nepalese waiters and the inclusion of a few Nepalese dishes on the menu.

p1070232Momos, Nepalese dumplings, in particular are hard for me to pass up, I really love dumplings! I enjoyed the Momos both chicken and fish on a few different occurrences, filed with a hand mince ginger flavoured stuffing and steamed to perfection, the juicy filling, firm pastry and accompanied by a delicious dipping sauce. They served as a nice break from curries.

Goan food was easy to find in Agonda, as well as the usual multi cultural selection, I did notice there are fewer dishes from across India on the menus compared to other places in Goa. I sampled and retried a few of these delicious dishes.

p1070235Chicken xacuti – I think the xacuti is better with chicken than with fish, the punchy mix of 15 spices and aromatics and ground coconut that make the curries distinctive flavour, don’t over power the chicken quite as much. The fattier thigh pieces where especially good.

Prawn vindaloo – This prawn vindaloo highlighted one of the problems I’ve experienced across India, the dumbing down of the spice level for westerners, and in turn subduing the flavour. I expressly ask for spicy with almost every meal, sometimes the message gets lost. This vindaloo, although not bad, hat a pronounced tomato flavour, clearly not enough of the Recheiado had been added, this blend of spices, Kashmiri chilli and coconut vinegar give the vindaloo it’s kick.

