Breakfasts

p1070376I’ve had some great Indian breakfast dishes on this trip, a local style breakfast is always welcome. A chance to try something new, interesting and delicious is much better than a predictable and boring western style breakfast.

With few local breakfast variations in each location I visit, it’s hard to post about them chronologically and still feel it’s an interesting post. By the time I had experienced enough new breakfast dishes the sequence was gone, so my last food post from India will be about how I started my day.

In Munnar, the retreat delivered some great dishes.

Idiyappam, steamed rice noodle and coconut cakes with a pea curry

Idli, with sambar and coconut chutney

Uttapom, idli batter fried as vegetable studded pancakes with sambar and coconut chutney

In Mumbai these two were note-worthy breakfasts

Paneer bhurji – grated Paneer, scrambled along with eggs in some garam masala, onion, chilli and coriander. I used this image in Goan breakfasts, it looked so similar to the Indian scrambled eggs.

Dosa with sambar and coconut chutney – Such a great looking example from The Taj Mahal Hotel.

My Goan breakfast in Panaji consisted a tongue tingling potato and chickpea curry, a pair of Portuguese pao, a fennel and fenugreek seed enhanced sweet fried bread, and a crispy potato and peas samosa. To be honest I barely ever managed to eat both the pao, it was far too much food for me to handle.

20161229_100947

